Frequently Asked Questions

What is Pearson?

Pearson in the UK brings together leading names in education to provide a blend of content, curricula, assessment, training and technology to make learning more engaging and effective. They are the UK’s largest awarding body and are regulated by Ofqual (England), SQA Accreditation (Scotland), CCEA Accreditation (Northern Ireland) and Qualifications Wales (Wales). They offer academic and vocational qualifications that are globally recognised and benchmarked, with educational excellence rooted in names like Edexcel, BTEC, EDI and LCCI.

What is a BTEC?

BTECs are high-quality, career-focused qualifications grounded in the real world of work. This means BTEC learners develop and apply the knowledge, skills and behaviours that employers and universities are looking for.
The demand for workforce skills is increasing and the need for global certification in technical and vocational areas is growing. BTEC qualifications are uniquely placed to respond to these skills gaps by providing practical skills assessment and up-to-date career-focussed education in traditional and emerging sectors.

How is BTEC graded?

International BTECs are internally assessed allowing for practical assignments that combine knowledge and career related skills. At least 25% of these assignments will be set by Pearson to provide additional external standardization. Assignments are scenario based and designed to be work relevant, for example by researching and presenting information and demonstrating the skills needed for employment.

Why choose Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals?

Pearson BTEC Higher National qualifications take a student-centred approach to the curriculum. There is a flexible, unit-based structure that focuses on developing the practical, interpersonal and thinking skills the student will need to succeed in employment and higher education.

Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals are intended to keep doors open for future study if a student wishes to take their education further after completing a Higher National programme. They do this by allowing space for students to develop their higher education study skills, such as the ability to research. The study programme is clearly set out in line with the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education’s Framework for Higher Education qualification standards at Levels 4 and 5. This means that students who want to progress to Levels 5 or 6 study should feel better prepared.